Your name on Google? … You’ll be surprised!

OK … so everyone has done a google search for their name right?

My Mom, who is paranoid about the net anyway (she won’t even use an ATM card and her mail all goes to a PO box) was shocked to learn that her name, address and phone number showed up when we searched for her name.

Its amazing that even with an unusual name like Todd Sinclair it turns out there are many of me.

So … I am here to set the record straight … here is what I found on a Google search … page 1.

I’m not Todd “Fats Pants” Sinclair the WWF Pro Wrestling Referee.

I’m not Todd Sinclair (WhidbeyGeek) A person from Seattle who joined Digg on November 9th, 2005. Although I am a DIGG member … I’m toddlorensinclair on DIGG. I’m todd_sinclair on twitter.

I’m not the Todd Sinclair on Facebook … I’m toddlorensinclair on Facebook.

I’m not Todd Sinclair (Sydney Australia) the bicycle racer.

I’m not Todd Sinclair the drag racer from the Carolina Gassers (Congrats Todd on coming in 3rd last week).

I’m not Todd Sinclair the New York Times Magazine author of “Letters: A New Kind of Diva”.

I’m not Todd Sinclair the President of NNRF, Inc. (Wish I was!)

I’m not Todd Sinclair the owner and Vice President of Sinclair Masonry In Wichita Kansas.

I’m definitely not the character described as “a toad like Todd Sinclair” in the book “Lover in the Rough” by Elizabeth Lowell .

I’m not the Todd Sinclair who is a North Rockland Cross Country racer.

I’m not the Todd Sinclair DSP Staff Editor for The Smithereens – The Rock Club – Morristown, NJ.

I’m not Todd Sinclair the little league coach in Canada.

I am the Todd Sinclair posting on the windows home server PP1 beta forum.

I’m not the Todd Sinclair talking about router tables and rib and fib on a cisco usenet group.

I’m not the Todd Sinclair in the New Zealand Amateur Golf Championship.

I’m not the Todd Sinclair of Sinclair Custom Homes in Spartansburg either.

I’m not Lt. Todd Sinclair the ROTC instructor at the University of San Diego.

I’m not the Todd Sinclair of the Pacific Coast Trail Association.

I’m not the Todd Sinclair, a Palmerston resident who works in Human Resources for the NT government (Australia).

I’m not the Todd Sinclair, (although I want to be) the character described as “yet despite his one hundred and seven years of age, Todd Sinclair was still mostly muscle and rock hard” from the Janrae Frank book “The Exiles Return” .

I am the Todd Sinclair posting on a forum about the TomTom Go 920 GPS in comparison to the 720.

OK … so that’s the end of the google 1st page … a lot of Todd Sinclair’s huh? Who’d have thought.  That’s why I use my full name Todd Loren Sinclair whenever possible (some sites won’t allow that many letters as a user name. There were a bunch of other links related to my activity’s … but this is about the impostors right?. I must admit I’m kind of proud of all my namesakes … even perhaps a tad jealous … they seem to be doing very well for themselves. But then I guess you wouldn’t find too many down and outers on google anyway, at least on the 1st page.

Makes me glad I’m not John Smith or Bill Jones.

Note: The name Todd Sinclair is a character in 2 different books by 2 separate authors … Janrae Frank and Elizabeth Lowell. One of the authors,  Janrae Frank commented on the post. Since I was curious … did the author know a Todd Sinclair … date a Todd Sinclair … make up the name Todd Sinclair …  I sent her an email with the question. Her response was:

“I never knew a Todd Sinclair.  It’s a powerful name.  I first wrote about the Sinclair family in Mother Damnation.  The hero had the unfortunate name of Aristotle Sinclair, but was generally called ‘Sink.’  He and his cousin Kate grew in my imagination and affections until I had to include later generations of the family.  Sink was an army officer and Kate was a witch.  I am moving on to another generation of Sinclairs with Jordan and Trevor in the next lycan series I am working on.”

Thanks Janrae … I like the way you write.

Share/Save/Bookmark

3 responses to “Your name on Google? … You’ll be surprised!

  1. Thank you for the compliment concerning Todd. He is one of my best loved characters.

  2. Thanks for the comment cussedness … I saw my name in a couple of book characters and wondered … did the author know a Todd Sinclair … date a Todd Sinclair … make up the name Todd Sinclair …?

  3. I never knew a Todd Sinclair. But it is a very strong name. Todd is probably one of my best-loved characters.

Leave a Reply

